RSS Feed

Recipe: Soft Oatmeal Cookies


I found this recipe online and wrote it down on a piece of paper since my printer it busted. If this is your recipe I will give you credit. It originally said to pre-heat oven to 375, but I did mine at 350 because I didn’t want to accidentally burn the bottom of the cookies. If you like your cookies to be more chewy and thick then do not press the balls of dough down, just leave them the way they are. If you like them thinner and more crunchy press them down.

1 cup of butter

1 cup of white sugar

2 eggs

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

3 cups quick cooking oats

Cream together the butter, white sugar and brown sugar. Beat in the eggs one at a time then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon then stir into the creamed mixture. Mix in oats and whatever else you want to add such as raisins. Cover and chill dough for at least an hour.

Preheat oven to 350. Roll dough into walnut sized balls and place them two inches apart on a cookie sheet. I use parchment paper on my cookie sheets which makes it very easy to transfer the cookies and it’s an easier cleanup.

Leave a comment