RSS Feed

My First Dish Using Tofu!


Yes, this is the first dish I have ever made with tofu! It’s called Tofu Scramble and like the previous recipe I found it on the internet. Also like the previous recipe I changed it. You can add whatever veggies you want to this or whatever spices. Personally I like my food spicy, but you don’t have to go down that road if you don’t want to. I doubled this recipe by the way, so what you see in the photo accounts for that.

3 tsp canola oil divided

1 14 ounce package of firm tofu packed in water, rinsed and crumbled

1 1/2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp cumin

dash of garlic powder

dash of smoked paprika

dash of chipoltle Tabasco sauce

dash of pepper

1/2 tsp salt

1 small zucchini chopped

3/4 cup of frozen corn, thawed

4 green onions (you can use scallions if you have them)

1/2 cup of shredded monterrey jack cheese

salsa

cilantro

Heat 1 1/2 tsp of oil in skillet over medium heat. Add the tofu, chili powder, cumin, 1/4 tsp of salt, and all of the spices to taste. Cook for about 10 minutes or so until cooked through. Transfer to a bowl.

Add remaining 1 1/2 tsp oil to pan. Add zucchini, corn, green onions and remaining 1/4 tsp salt. Cook until veggies are tender. Return tofu to pan and cook until heated through. Remove from heat and add cheese. Top with the salsa and cilantro.

Yummy!

2 responses »

  1. You should give my Tofu French Toast a try. I have a recipe for it on my blog. I normally don’t have normal French Toast but once a year. I’ve had the tofu version three times in the past 3 months. It is really yummy. If you don’t like using eggs, you can alter the recipe and use a vegetarian dairy substitute or cream.

    Michelle 🙂

    http://forcedvegetarian.wordpress.com/2011/06/10/new-food-stuffs/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

