RSS Feed

Food Review: Arctic Zero


I have been reading about this product for ages but until the other day I had not been able to find it in a  store located near me. I am always really, really dubious of any food that the diet crowd promotes, but finding out that it contains no artificial sweeteners let me put my guard down a tiny bit. Let’s see what’s inside:

    It bills itself as a frozen protein shake, so it has whey protein concentrate. I have read up on this ingredient and it is not a totally bad thing. It promotes heart health and helps out your immune system, however whey protein concentrate has a high level of lactose in it. It says right on the package that it is suitable for people who are lactose intolerant. If it has lactose in it then how can that be the case? I used to be very lactose intolerant and I would be mad as heck if I ate a half pint of this stuff and then had to make a run for the bathroom because they didn’t tell the truth on their product. It also contains chicory root, which makes some people very bloated. I can attest to this!

A whole pint of this stuff is only 150 calories and contains no fat but I don’t think I could down the whole thing in one go. I bought both the peanut butter chocolate, and the chocolate flavors. So far I have just tried the peanut butter one and I must say that it has a strange texture. I have read some people comparing it to pudding pops, but it feels more strange than that when it’s rolling around in your mouth. Have you ever seen that ‘Blancmange’ Monty Python skit? Well I felt like I was eating that giant blancmange that was playing tennis: something kind of alien,creamy and not of this earth. Not bad but not completely good either. The flavor itself was kind of bland and could use some more punch to it: the chocolate flavor came out but the peanut butter was very muted.

Would I buy this product again? Probably not, but I can venture to finish both pints very slowly. Well, as long as I don’t think of evil alien ‘Blancmanges’ invading earth and turning people into Scotsmen.

6 responses »

  1. carolyn callaway

    HAVE BEEN BUYING ARCTIC ZERO DESSERT FOR SEVERAL YEARS. SOMETIMES
    TOPPING OFF WITH DAIRY-FREE WHIPPED “CREAM”. ONLY STORE I KNOW OF
    THAT CARRIES IT IS HENRY’S. THE MFG LOCATION IS TEMECULA,CA. NOT FAR
    FROM MY HOME BUT WITH THE INCREASED INTEREST MAYBE OTHER STORES
    WILL START CARRYING THIS PRODUCT.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Test Kitchen: Arctic Zero | Ryes and 'Shine

  3. When I originally left a comment I seem to have clicked on
    the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I receive 4 emails with the
    exact same comment. Is there a means you can remove me from
    that service? Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  4. If some one needs to be updated with latest technologies
    therefore he must be pay a quick visit this website and be up to date daily.

    Reply
  5. What’s up everyone, it’s my first visit at this site, and post is genuinely fruitful in favor of me,
    keep up posting such articles.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

